News Alert: FEMA Approves Individual Assistance for Five Louisiana Parishes Impacted by Hurricane Isaac
Posted: 9/6/2012 4:40:13 PM
Louisiana Business Emergency Operations Center


September 6, 2012

State of Louisiana News Desk #: 225.358.5361

FEMA Approves Individual Assistance
for Five Louisiana Parishes Impacted
by Hurricane Isaac

BATON ROUGE -- At the request of the State of Louisiana, the Federal Emergency Management Agency has approved Individual Assistance for five Louisiana parishes affected by Hurricane Isaac. This means residents of Assumption, St Helena, St James, Terrebonne and Washington parishes who suffered damages are now eligible for FEMA assistance.

Louisiana requested these parishes be added to the state's declaration last week. This addition brings the total number of parishes declared for IA to 16. Residents in the following Louisiana parishes may be eligible for FEMA assistance:

Ascension, Assumption, Jefferson, Lafourche, Livingston, Orleans, Plaquemines, St. Bernard, St Helena, St James, St. John the Baptist, St. Charles, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Terrebonne and Washington.

FEMA assistance is for residents of affected areas who sustained uninsured or underinsured Isaac-related damage to their homes, vehicles, personal property, business or its inventory beginning Aug. 26, 2012.

Louisiana residents can apply for disaster assistance in two ways: by applying online at or calling 1-800-621-3362. Residents with speech or hearing impairments should call (TTY) 1-800-462-7585. Users of 711-Relay or Video Relay Services should call 1-800-621-3362.

The State of Louisiana will request that Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (DSNAP) benefits be approved for these five parishes. Right now, residents of these parishes are not eligible for benefits.

Only residents of the following 9 parishes are eligible for DSNAP right now: Ascension, Jefferson, Lafourche, Livingston, Orleans, Plaquemines, St. Bernard, St. John the Baptist and St. Tammany. Starting on September 8, residents of St. Charles and Tangipahoa parishes will be eligible for DSNAP benefits.

The State encourages residents to pre-apply for DSNAP benefits to ease the process if they become available in a parish. To pre-apply, residents can call the Louisiana Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) customer call center, 1-888-LAHELP-U (1-888-524-3578) the hotline and select their language and then options 3 and 3 from the menu. Online pre-application also is available at or

DCFS has extended its hours or the agency's customer call center to 24 hours a day, seven days per week.

Louisiana has also requested IA assistance for seven additional parishes, which is still pending FEMA approval. These are: East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Iberville, Pointe Coupee, St. Mary, West Baton Rouge and West Feliciana parishes.


The LA BEOC Portal is designed and developed by the NIMSAT Institute under the Cooperative Endeavor Agreement with the Louisiana Governor's Office of Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness (GOHSEP)


© Copyright 2010-2019, NIMSAT. All rights reserved. Terms of Service. Portal Guidelines.